Celebration Cake

For my 100th post on this blog, I wanted to share with you my daughter’s 4th birthday cake.

The cake recipe itself came from Peggy Porschen’s Pretty Party Cakes cook book, and was therefore nice and straightforward, and the design was an amalgamation from various foodie magazines, Pinterest images and baking shows I had seen.

Three layers of chocolate cake were sandwiched together with a vanilla buttercream frosting.  I then carved a hollow core through the three layers and then filled it in with M&Ms and white chocolate drops.

I then topped it with a final layer of cake before covering the whole lot with more frosting.  Using regular and small sized M&Ms, my mum and I then randomly positioned them all over… Did you know there is a great art to being random!? I finished this off with a few 100s and 1000s, just in case there were not enough colourings already included!

Anyway, the kiddos were happy with the end result, especially the surprise cascade of M&Ms when that first slice came out!

6 thoughts on “Celebration Cake

  1. Looks yummy! Thanks for the follow! I just had my 100th post this past weekend,,,, I’ll enjoy going through your recipes. It looks beautiful where you are, and you are tending to your family, the greatest and most under appreciated job in the world,,, yet the most valuable,,,, they are only little once,,😘

    Like

Leave a Reply

