Gubbins Tray Bake

Unfortunately this post includes only approximate measurements, and in fact barely resembles a recipe I’m afraid, as it is the result of having a good clear our of the baking ingredient shelf and an effort to use up all those nearly empty packets and jars.

As luck would have it, it turned out to be pretty tasty, so I am sharing with you the ingredients with approximate quantities as it is a ridiculously easy and forgiving concept for filling tummies mid morning or afternoon!

To add to my laziness in lack of precision, I also found a tinfoil tray lurking in the back of the cupboard that houses the various baking trays and tins, and thought this the perfect opportunity to bypass some washing up.

I started by melting about 4oz of butter in a pan on a medium heat with about 6 heaped tbsp of loosely packed brown sugar.  I then scrapped the last tbsp of golden syrup out of the jar and squeezed the dregs from the honey pot into the pan too.  When it was bubbling I added another knob of butter, turned the heat off and let the sugary caramely toffeey mixture cool a bit.

Then, in a large bowl I combined the gubbins from the many nearly packets from my cupboard.  This included the following in approximate measurements…

1/2 cup ground almonds
2 heaped tbsp so of almond slithers
1 large handful of white and dark chocolate chips
1 large handful of raisins
1 tbsp sunflower seeds
1/4 cup desiccated sweetened coconut
1/4 cup pine nuts
1 small handful of walnuts, chopped
1 small handful of pecans, chopped
7 dried apricots, chopped
1 tbsp black sesame seeds
2oz dark chocolate, chopped into chunks
2 cups rolled oats

I then poured the sugary mixture over the bowl of bits, combined it thoroughly and transferred the contents to the tinfoil tray.  Using the back of a spoon I pressed the top of the mixture to make it compact, and then baked it in a moderate over for 15 minutes.  After the cooking time, I let it cool completely before cutting it into squares.   Serve with some chopped fresh fruit for a great mid morning or afternoon snack.  I thought it was also pretty good as a second breakfast too! 

Leave a Reply

