Spaghetti Cake

Twisting a classic quick and easy pasta dish makes meat-free-Monday a total breeze when cooking for the family.  As soon as my 5 year old heard me say the words ‘spaghetti cake’ she was all over it and couldn’t wait for Monday night supper!


Just to clarify before I start, I didn’t read or follow a recipe for this so it is by no means authentic.  I looked at a few pics online and it seemed to turn out pretty good regardless 😉

I started by lining a cake tin with grease proof paper and sprinkled a little grated strong cheddar on the base.  Using a classic multi veg and tomato sauce, I drowned a pan full of cooked spaghetti and then spooned a good inch thick layer into the cake tin.  

I then defrosting 8 big pellets of frozen chopped spinach and combined it with 3 heaped tablespoons of mascarpone and one large egg. I added a good sprinkle of ground nutmeg, freshly cracked black pepper, a pinch of sea salt and a cup of grated strong cheddar. I loosened the mixture with a splash of milk and spooned the mixture over the pasta layer.


On with the next layer of saucy pasta and then sprinkle with some more cheese…


Into a pre-heated oven, the cake cooked for 35 mins until the cheese was golden…


I let the spaghetti cake rest for about 5 mins before cutting and serving a slice each to the kiddos… and me… and later to my husband with a green salad on the side.


Happy Meat Free Monday x

2 thoughts on “Spaghetti Cake

Leave a Reply

